Latest News
2nd Commission Meeting
27/01/2014 > The Second Commission Meeting of the South Pacific Regional Fisheries Management Organisation (SPRFMO) was held in Manta, Ecuador from 27 to 31 January 2014. Read more >>
Republic of Vanuatu
04/11/2013 > On 4 November 2013, the Republic of Vanuatu deposited an Instrument of Accession with the Depositary. Read more >>
1st Scientific Committee Meeting
27/10/2013 > The 1st Meeting of the Scientific Committee was held 21st - 27th October 2013 in La Jolla, California, USA. Read more >>


Photo: Kim Westerskov


The South Pacific Regional Fisheries Management Organisation is an inter-governmental organisation that is committed to the long-term conservation and sustainable use of the fishery resources of the South Pacific Ocean and in so doing safeguarding the marine ecosystems in which the resources occur. 

The Organisation consists of a Commission and a number of subsidiary bodies.  The members of the Commission are: Australia, Belize, Republic of Chile, People's Republic of China, Cook Islands, Republic of Cuba, European Union, Kingdom of Denmark in respect of the Faroe Islands, Republic of Korea, New Zealand, Russian Federation, Chinese Taipei and the Republic of Vanuatu.


Photo: NIWA